Stability of Statics Aware Voronoi Grid-Shells

Engineering Structures, Volume 116, Number 1, page 70-82 - june 2016
Download the publication : static_of_voronoi.pdf [2.9Mo]  

Grid-shells are lightweight structures used to cover long spans with few load-bearing material, as they excel for lightness, elegance and transparency. In this paper we analyse the stability of hex-dominant free-form grid-shells, generated with the Statics Aware Voronoi Remeshing scheme introduced in Pietroni et al. (2015). This is a novel hex-dominant, organic-like and non uniform remeshing pattern that manages to take into account the statics of the underlying surface. We show how this pattern is particularly suitable for free-form grid-shells, providing good performance in terms of both aesthetics and structural behaviour. To reach this goal, we select a set of four con- temporary architectural surfaces and we establish a systematic comparative analysis between Statics Aware Voronoi Grid-Shells and equivalent state of the art triangular and quadrilateral grid-shells. For each dataset and for each grid-shell topology, imperfection sensitivity analyses are carried out and the worst response diagrams compared. It turns out that, in spite of the in- trinsic weakness of the hexagonal topology, free-form Statics Aware Voronoi Grid-Shells are much more effective than their state-of-the-art quadrilateral counterparts.

Images and movies


BibTex references

  author       = "Tonelli, Davide and Pietroni, Nico and Puppo, Enrico and Froli, Maurizio and Cignoni, Paolo and Amendola, Gennaro and Scopigno, Roberto",
  title        = "Stability of Statics Aware Voronoi Grid-Shells",
  journal      = "Engineering Structures",
  number       = "1",
  volume       = "116",
  pages        = "70-82",
  month        = "june",
  year         = "2016",
  note         = "original paper at",
  keywords     = "Grid-shells, topology, Voronoi, free-form, imperfection sensitivity, buckling, equivalent continuum",
  url          = ""

Other publications in the database

» Davide Tonelli
» Nico Pietroni
» Enrico Puppo
» Maurizio Froli
» Paolo Cignoni
» Roberto Scopigno